Tina Jay wins the Windsor Kenneth Branagh Award for New Drama Writing

Tina Jay and Jenny Seagrove

Tina Jay from Derby has won the Windsor Fringe Kenneth Branagh Award for New Drama Writing. Three plays were chosen to be performed at the Windsor Fringe festival and after the final performance on 8th October 2011, Tina Jay received a £500 cheque from Jenny Seagrove for her play “Walking”.

Tina Jay's play "Walking" was chosen by judges Jenny Seagrove and John Adams.

The runners-up were:

"No Occasion To" by David Gerard Weir from London

“All Those Endearing Young Charms” by Peter Harrison of Cheshire

145 scripts were submitted from writers across the UK, the USA, Eire, Australia, Canada, Sweden, Switzerland and Jersey. The scripts were numbered and read completely anonymously by 28 readers. The nine short-listed plays were sent, again anonymously, to the Windsor Fringe judges, who were very impressed by the high standard of this year’s group of writers.

The other six short-listed plays were, in author alphabetical order:

“The Elephant in the Room” by Colin Buchan,
“Offside” by Christian Connell,
“South” by Tom Hill,
“Under the Duvet” by Crysse Morrison,
“I Zelda” by Eddie Naughton and
“Ada” by Cath Nichols.

About the winning writer

Tina Jay teaches drama in an independent school in Nottingham, and formerly ran her own Drama and Dance school for sixteen years. She is a former winner of the International Student Playscript Competition for her play “Rotten Apples”, judged by Sir Alan Ayckbourn, which was subsequently performed by the Arden School of Theatre at The Royal Exchange, Manchester.

Two of Tina's plays “Next to Godliness” and “Heaven must Have Sent You” have also been performed at the Pomegrante Playwrights Festival in Chesterfield.


Author's review: